Blame it on the Weather…

I can’t believe I am entitling the Export template as ‘Week 7’! Where does the time go to?
Isn’t it a fact that the older you get the quicker time seems to pass… I know, it goes no quicker or slower whatever your age but the perception is much different isn’t it? I find myself deliberately doing little to nothing on a Sunday to make the day appear longer… Obviously with that you get a serious feeling of regret due to wasting an entire day.

I can’t wait for Spring to spring! I long for the nights to be lighter, for the colours to brighten up and for the fear of one last snowfall to be gone. My dad has a theory based on an old wives tale so it is of course 100% true. *!*

“February fill dyke, be it black or be it white”

It would seem it will work either way for us, it has been both black and white lately! As I was driving up the hill to my house which is one of the same hills that the weather people always mention… “The snow will be more significant on the Hills…” My dad noticed the dykes along the fields were all filled with snow. He sucked in his breath and shook his head. February Fill-dyke….. White.

I still have an eerily quiet garden… I am not used to the peace as we always have so many visitors. I am still blaming the Sparrow hawk… It doesn’t stop those silly squirrels though… they visit whatever…

If you can’t watch the antics of the garden visitors then you have to find something else to watch and dad and I did just that. The Jazz Singer! I was brought up with the soundtrack and I like nothing better than to cosy-up on the sofa and sing through a film! *oooh baby baby* I actually found the character Neil Diamond played in the film to be very annoying… self-centered and arrogant, but these are newly made assumptions that have come to me over time. Jaded with experience perhaps? If you concentrate on the songs he becomes less annoying….
*I’m amazed, I’m confused.
I’ve been dazed, I’ve been used*

I’ve only got one particular blot on my landscape this week and that is the looming-large appointment we have with the Damp-man… yes, you guessed it… We have damp issues! (I blame the weather….) I’m hoping it is a relatively cheap fix but of course it won’t be…. I may have to take my sing-a-long-The-Jazz-singer ‘show’ to the streets along with my dads cap….

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Flighty
    Feb 11, 2013 @ 11:23:37

    The weeks certainly seem to go by quicker than ever.
    It’s just dirty grey here, rather than black or white, with slushy snow on wet and muddy ground.
    Fingers crossed that your damp issues won’t be too expensive! xx


  2. nikkipolani
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 05:12:35

    Sorry about the damp. It’s never a good thing. I’ve been noticing a pattern of damp on an east-facing wall that I thought was just from the rain. And then noticed it even after many non-rain days…. So I sympathise!


  3. daffy
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 13:11:21

    Fingers crossed its not too bad Nikki x


  4. Glo
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 19:52:37

    Hope it has warmed up a bit around your area! Also hoping the damp issue isn’t too major of an expense. Happy Valentine’s Day, Daffy and family!


  5. Philip
    Feb 26, 2013 @ 02:30:41

    My friend Lynne just got back from Yorkshire where she was working on the finances of her company there. She always complains about the dampness and the long night times. We complain about the darkness here and you are even further North. Do you use the expression “cabin fever” for the feeling you get for spending so much time in the dark and in doors because of the weather. She also moans about how cold the places she stays in are. Makes me wonder if the English failed to embrace central heating, thermostatically controlled. It is as if you never got over having to put shillings in the heater to keep it working. I don’t think she has yet taken to real woolen jumpers and welly boots with wool socks.

    I hope Spring will emerge for you soon. While I have over two feet of snow on the ground I think Spring will soon be here and we have passed the coldest Winter days. I just had my birthday. My mother used to say she went into the hospital and had me and when she got out it was Spring. In reality I bet the joy I brought her just made it seem line Spring.


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

