Lonely in the Snow

14876_10151445309009042_635542717_nSnow 1

As the snow brings the Country to an almost standstill once again, I hear myself harping on about the past. “They would never have coped if they had the snow we had as youngsters!” It is true though. To digress slightly, I took a phonecall last week from a man saying he wouldn’t be in for his shift as it was snowing…. Erm yes?? So what? You are just going to give up and stay home, go sledging with the kids? Not even an offer of putting a holiday in? I have walked 2 miles to the nearest bus stop and navigated the tricky bus protocol which is foreign to me. Apparently you can’t sit in the very front seats. You have to keep them free for those who can’t make it further up the bus.
I don’t like to drive on snowy or icy roads even though my car is ok and able to handle it well. I hear people saying that if you can’t drive in it you should stay off the road. No problem! I can adhere to that one. Small sacrifices though. My car is ok but my sons sporty little number isn’t so good so we hatched a plan that enables him to drive my car as long as he drops his old mam off along the way. Perfect? Not so much… he starts work at 6.30am.
So here I sit, all alone in a large empty office. It is eerily quiet. I’m all wide-eyed as I realise that the first person in has to get busy quickly! Changing the calendars, emptying the dishwasher and opening the windows to let in some air. It is almost like being at home.
The forecast is threatening one last heap of snow before the temperatures rise early next week. I think we have floods to look forward to then…
If I could sit in my conservatory, with a steaming hot mug of coffee all day long I would want it to snow forever. In my fairytale world that would be perfect, sitting and watching the birds as they fought for a morsel. Seeing the squirrels, busy fools, collecting nuts and hiding them. Returning later and trying to remember where they buried them.

Reality bites though. Instead I sit here in a lonely office after navigating a snowy and icy hill. After rising at the unearthly hour of 4.45am and dowsing my face with cold water in a hope of short, sharp wake-up shock. After spending a much too large portion of my working day yesterday trying to work out why my Dads Sky system is telling him that there is no satellite signal. After ringing all the bus depots to make sure my daughter can get home from college and after realising that my fairytale conservatory roof is leaking….

Don’t forget that this weekend is the RSPB Bird-watching weekend. (UK)

Have a wonderful weekend. Yeah! A lie in tomorrow!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 13:25:38

    Good for you for making the effort! Snow and cold is not an excuse to miss work in this country. The only concession that is made is the school buses don’t run because the Board of Education don’t want the kids standing and waiting for the bus in -30 or -40 windchills. They don’t want to be responsible. The kids who can walk to school are still expected to go unless there’s been a HUGE dumping of snow and then the schools are closed for the day.

    Reply

  2. daffy
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 13:39:26

    Exactly.. I was astonished. Worse, it seemed wholly accepted by the company. They are going to regret it when everyone in the future sees a flake and ring in.
    How are you doing? Is the recovery going ok. How is nurse hubby doing? :) xx

    Reply

  3. daffy
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 13:41:07

    Jenny do you have a blog?

    Reply

  4. Flighty
    Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:54:31

    I’m sure that you wonder why you bother at times, I know I do! Knowing how much you don’t like the stuff let’s hope that it clears quickly, and there isn’t any more.
    Have a good weekend, and happy bird watching! xx

    Reply

    • daffy
      Jan 25, 2013 @ 17:59:01

      It’s nowing like crazy here at the moment but that isn’t the problem.. the wind causing drifts across the roads is the problem. We have just driven on a clear, slightly dam road and right in fromy of whas about a foot of snow over the road where it had drifted from the open field. None forecast tomorrow though thankfully. xx Enjoy your bird watching too. x

      Reply

  5. nikkipolani
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 03:24:33

    I suppose if one isn’t accustomed to driving in the snow, it can be daunting. But, hey, you guys get snow and must learn to cope! Ouch – you’re in the office before 6:30?? I’m barely alive at that hour!

    Reply

  6. daffy
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 06:18:34

    Thats what I do, I opt out and cope. :)

    Reply

  7. Denise
    Jan 26, 2013 @ 11:22:01

    Yhe problem we have with the snow is drifting. One minute the roads are clear the next the drift comes and the road is completely hidden. let’s hope we’ve seen the last of the snow eh?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

